Early Years


Early Years Curriculum

Children in Early Years follow the statutory requirements and guidance of DfE Early Years Foundation Stage.  This covers the seven areas of learning:

  1. Communication and Language
  2. Physical Development
  3. Personal, social and emotional development
  4. Literacy
  5. Mathematics
  6. Understanding the World
  7. Expressive arts and design

The curriculum is delivered through a classroom setting and indoor and outdoor activities. Use is made of the school playground and field, the hall and the computer room.  Children attend whole school assemblies and services when it is felt appropriate.

Communication between the school and parents is regarded as a priority and takes place both informally, as required, and formally at parents' evenings and through written reports.